UEA/NRP- BRAZIL WORKSHOP on PLANT SCIENCES em January 23-26 2013

Day 1: (Wednesday; 23rd January)
  Evening Session:
Introductions, UEA/NRP presentations, FAPESP presentations; Mixer, Dinner

 

Day 2: (Thursday; 24th January)
9.00-10.15: Genomics/molecular approaches to crop improvement – session 1
Brazil:
Marie-Anne Van Sluys (USP)
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/en/pesquisador/66/marie-anne-van-sluys/
Renato Vicentini (UNICAMP)
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/en/pesquisador/3098/renato-vicentini-dos-santos/
UK: Mario Caccamo (http://www.tgac.ac.uk/bioinformatics),
Mike Bevan (http://www.jic.ac.uk/profile/michael-bevan.asp),
Cock Van Oosterhout (http://www.uea.ac.uk/env/people/facstaff/vanoosterhoutc)
  Coffee Break
10.45-11.45 Genomics/molecular approaches to crop improvement – session 2
Brazil:
Antonio Augusto Franco Garcia (ESALQ-USP)
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/en/pesquisador/32049/antonio-augusto-franco-garcia/
Michel Vincentz (UNICAMP)
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/en/pesquisador/993/michel-georges-albert-vincentz/
UK:
Cristobal Uauy (http://www.jic.ac.uk/profile/cristobal-uauy.asp)
Simon Griffiths (http://www.jic.ac.uk/profile/simon-griffiths.asp)
12.00-13.00 Buffet lunch
13.00-15.00 Tour of NRP/JIC (divided in small groups based on scientific interest)
15:00-16:00 Sugar metabolism, cell walls, plant natural products – session 1
Brazil:
Marcos Silveira Buckeridge (USP & CTBE);
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/en/pesquisador/284/marcos-silveira-buckeridge/
Camila Caldana (CTBE)
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/pt/pesquisador/67497/camila-caldana/

UK:
Rob Field (http://www.jic.ac.uk/staff/rob-field/index.htm),
Alison Smith (http://www.jic.ac.uk/staff/alison-smith/)
  Coffee Break
16.30-17.15 Sugar metabolism, cell walls, plant natural products – session 2
Brazil:
Vanderlan Bolzani (UNESP)
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/pt/pesquisador/10/vanderlan-da-silva-bolzani/
Paulo Mazzafera (UNICAMP);
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/en/pesquisador/419/paulo-mazzafera/
UK:
Sarah O’Connor (http://www.jic.ac.uk/staff/sarah-oconnor/pubs.htm)
18.30-21.00 Workshop Dinner (Norwich Cathedral or other notable venue)

 

Day 3: (Friday; 25th January)
9.00-10.30 Molecular approaches to plant-pathogen interactions – session 1
Brazil:
Antonio Vargas De Oliveira Figueira (CENA) http://www.bv.fapesp.br/en/pesquisador/934/antonio-vargas-de-oliveira-figueira/
Celso Benedetti (LNBIO)
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/en/pesquisador/2218/celso-eduardo-benedetti/
Marcos Antônio Machado (IAC)
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/en/pesquisador/503/marcos-antonio-machado/
UK:
Sophien Kamoun (http://web.mac.com/sophien/KamounLab/default.htm),
Cyril Zipfel (http://www.tsl.ac.uk/research/cyril-zipfel/publications.htm)
Vinod Kumar (http://www.jic.ac.uk/profile/id.asp?id=4421),
  Coffee Break
11.00-12.30 Plant reproductive biology
Brazil:
Fabio Tebaldi Silveira Nogueira (UNESP)
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/en/pesquisador/2967/fabio-tebaldi-silveira-nogueira/
Maria Helena Goldman (USP-RP)
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/en/pesquisador/3355/maria-helena-de-souza-goldman/
Marcelo Dornelas (UNICAMP)
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/en/pesquisador/2512/marcelo-carnier-dornelas/
UK:
Robert Sablowski (http://www.jic.ac.uk/staff/robert-sablowski/sablowski.htm)
Lars Ostergaard (http://www.jic.ac.uk/profile/lars-ostergaard.asp)
Phil Gilmartin (http://www.uea.ac.uk/bio/People/Academic/Philip+Gilmartin)
12.30-13.30 Buffet lunch
13.30-14.15 Molecular approaches to plant-pathogen interactions – session 2
Shaker Chuck Farah (IQ-USP)
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/en/pesquisador/557/shaker-chuck-farah/
Alessandra de Souza (IAC)
http://www.bv.fapesp.br/pt/pesquisador/2754/alessandra-alves-de-souza/
UK:
Mark Banfield (http://www.jic.ac.uk/staff/mark-banfield/)
Saskia Hohenhout (http://www.jic.ac.uk/staff/saskia-hogenhout/)
  Coffee Break
14.45-15.45 Frontier approaches: Advanced imaging and mathematical modelling
Brazil:
Andre Fujita (IME-USP)
Ronaldo Fumio Hashimoto (IME-USP)
UK:
Veronica Grieneisen (http://www.jic.ac.uk/profile/Veronica-Grieneisen.asp),
Stan Maree (http://www.jic.ac.uk/profile/stan-maree.asp)
Silke Robatzek (http://www.tsl.ac.uk/research/silke-robatzek/index.htm)
16.00-17.30 Breakout sessions: six groups
17.30-18.30 Synthesis of discussions (10 min per group)
18.30-19.00 Sum-up and close of workshop